design is ?

May 6, 2008 § 2 Comments

I’m a little uncertain where to begin. My so-called “adult” life, that is.

Do I really want to take the risk and study for another 2 years? Study something that is completely different from what I’ve been doing so far? To do a design course, get a design education- something certain industry practitioners have told me is unnecessary.

“Just start working! Learn on the job and build your portfolio from there,” they say.

True, that would do. But I don’t want to get caught up in the rat-race of work. To get too consumed in trying to keep my head above the (foreseeable) rent + bills flood and clawing to make my mark in the world. I want a period of time to fully focus on what sort of design I want to produce, which aspects and why. And to breathe, for a bit longer.

I can’t say that I’ve found myself as a designer yet.
(How arrogant that would be to even THINK it.)

What sort of design blog is this then? If I don’t even know what sort of designer I am. Well, it’s one for me to think mydesign ramblings through. A place to clear out my  mind’s mental mutterings that go on through the day; random connections that drive me – and probably, my friends – nuts because of all the topic-hopping. (Jonny says I have an attention span of a gnat.)

So, here’s the thing, self. We NEED to figure out where this design bubble I’m sitting on is taking me:

  • To further studies?
  • To self-learning?
  • To advertising?
  • To entrepreneurship?

We (you and me, self) need to find out soon. By next month. When I graduate.

So for now, “Design is ?”
But by next month, I hope I find out that “Design is XXX.”

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to design is ?

  • iammyy says:

    to be honest,after 3 years of design education…
    I’m quite ashamed to say that I’ve no clue what design is…
    and I have to say, design is just everywhere…anyone can be a designer.
    Pretty much a self-learning experience, design studies just build the foundation and allow you to get used to the industry alil better. Working is really the best way to learn, I’ve learnt much more as an intern compared to my diploma. Further studies…if you want to be a design lecturer =P
    =)

  • sherms says:

    @ iammyy: heeeyy! thanks for stopping by and sharing 🙂

    To be honest, now that the month is almost ending, I’m not sure if anyone’s going to be able to pin point and say what design is . eurgh.

    think you’re right about the learning through working.. it’s just that I need that foundation first!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading design is ? at inthespace.

meta

