Hussalonia: a pop-music cult + a video mashup

July 17, 2009 § 6 Comments

When it comes to music, I leave it to my friends to know it best. Indie, pop, electronic, genres-I-don’t-even-know-exist filter by our conversations sometimes and I’m always the one with a question mark on my face.

However, recently I found one. One curious, delightful music entity that I’d like you to know.

It started with the hunt for music for the video mashup we were to do for VIDEO I&T class. We were looking for the Creative Commons license sort, so I was online wandering the Internet Archive that morning – which is a treasure trove, by the way – and I discover Hussalonia‘s madly popular THE PUBLIC DOMAIN EP which is.. well, yeah, for the public domain.

In other words, Jesse Mank, the founder of Hussalonia, is GIVING the public these songs.

You don’t have to pay to download them (you don’t have to pay for anything at all!); you can use them in any way/manner/mixup you like…..this is what is stated on Internet Archive :

“Dedicator recognizes that, once placed in the public domain, the Work may be freely reproduced, distributed, transmitted, used, modified, built upon, or otherwise exploited by anyone for any purpose, commercial or non-commercial, and in any way, including by methods that have not yet been invented or conceived.”

Incredible.

And what’s even better is that the music is good and it’s not a one-time scheme for him to get famous and rich quickly. This guy has been doing it for years, since 1997. Doing this is his way of life. That’s Respect with a capital R.

So head over and check out the music section on their website:

hussalonia music

- click to enter the music section -

___________________

For the video mashup school assignment, we were to take footage from the Prelinger Archives which is chocked full of old b/w or 1950s vintage colour commercials and do a short 1 min video. We could do a horror parody, comedy, instructional, music, etc anything we wanted. The main purpose was for us to have on-hands learning of Premier Pro.

After sieving through what felt like hundreds of commercials and songs, I decided on You Activate Me So: a quirky track from The Somewhat Surprising Return of Hussalonia Robot Singers.

YOU ACTIVATE ME SO

You stress my tranducers,
You’re a measurement outside of range.
Like Tesla to the radio,
You activate me so.

Take my end effector,
Oh, my sweet inventor!

I am a mindless android
I have no thoughts of feelings
With dead eyes, I wait for your command.
You validate me,
You animate me,
You activate me so.

The song makes references to Nikola Tesla, so I decided to use a fair amount of radio documentary/advertisement footage (Radio & Television 1940; On the Air 1937). The others are a mixture of clips from Soundie:I can’t give you anything but love (1941), Kodak Instamatic, Oldsmobile Futuramic Design (1948), Hillsborough (1959), Folgers Coffee, Classic Adverts No.w (1948). The film leader – the thing that counts down from 10 in the beginning – is from The Chosen One with some effects added.

________________

[links] video mashups……..

Wikipedia: video mashup
definition of a video mashup

The Recycled Cinema
choice selections of mashups

Re-cutting Room Floor
mashups of movie trailers

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Hussalonia: a pop-music cult + a video mashup

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hussalonia: a pop-music cult + a video mashup at inthespace.

meta

