A postcard to more

April 21, 2010 § 6 Comments

Recently, I’ve been staring at my wall a lot.

I’ve a pile of postcards stuck on it, and sometimes I wonder if I could step into one of those postcards and live out that world.

That, however, is not why I’ve been staring at the wall behind my laptop a lot. It’s because my focus likes to skip out on me, and leave my eyes to glaze over. While that was happening today, my glazed-over eyes noticed it’s been a (shamefully) long time since I dusted off my postcards. So I did.

As I was dusting + sneezing + reminiscing where I bought each postcard – mostly in Europe months and months ago – it occurred to me that it’d fun to do a little research on each artist/photographer.

You know, take a look at their other work. Find out what they did/do/were known for. Where were they from. Why did they take that picture. My curiosity tends to poke me to wonder about all that. So in good time, I plan to set about checking one postcard/illustration out at a time.

( But for now, I’d better catch up on my projects for my exams. )

Some postcards/photos on my wall:

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to A postcard to more

  • greenlaundry says:

    Heh is that one of the uncle with his stylo giant comb taken in front of House of Japan? Looks like it.

    Erm, spot check, are you done with ‘exams’? Are you prepping?! Is this why you have time to hang out with postcards?

  • Nabilah says:

    She’s not done with exams! That’s why she can’t do the research into the artists yet…right shermie? Can’t wait till you’re done and we all can hang out again! Miss you!

  • Niki says:

    Love that you have Ultraman guarding your postcards! I used to have an entire wall full of postcards but when I moved houses it was too much of a pain to remove.

    Anyway, good luck on the exams. My eyes are glazing over most of this week so you are not alone.

  • sherms says:

    @melly: yessss! the uncle works there. It took a long time to coax him into smiling. It was taken like 3 years back though. My exams are 8th May..not done yet like nabs said.. and i hang out with postcards cause they’re the only friends I see now. sob. that and my toilet roll.

    @nabs: I MISS YOU TOO LIKE YOU CAN’T IMAGINE!! 😦 now it’s keep the 8th free, instead of 24th! all of you!

    @niki: so you left them there? how sad! Thanks for the exams luck, I need all I can get. Maybe glazed eyes will make us look more mysterious. ha. we’ll see.

  • blisschic says:

    i love your postcard wall! I just joined postcrossing not too long ago and am receiving quite a handful of postcards from all over the world. I think having this postcard wall to display the different postcards is a great idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A postcard to more at inthespace.

meta

